Snow day!

Blizzard conditions here in west Michigan make it a good day to catch up on blogwatching –

David Rothman is compiling a list of wikis for health librarians. He also points us to a Mayo press release touting their collaboration with Microsoft to develop consumer health products: Mayo Clinic, Microsoft Announce Strategic Agreement To Develop Consumer Health Management Tools.

The Krafty Librarian reports on the use of fantasy football to teach information literacy skills to college students in A New Slant Pattern On Teaching Information Literacy. I found her earlier commentary on a Life as a Healthcare CIO post to be right on the mark.

The New York Times posted an article for party-goers: Dip once of Dip Twice? The article points to research inspired by a Seinfeld episode, as to whether “double-dipping” a chip in a bowl of dip transfers bacteria to a communal bowl.

Becky Jerome at the Clinical Evidence, Searching Tidbits, and Other Minutiae blog brings an article from New Scientist to our attention: A Wii warm-up hones surgical skills. Researchers found some existing games more useful than others, and are planning to develop Wii software that will simulate surgical procedures.

Stephen Abrams notes that the 2008 Horizon Report is now available, in PDF, from Educause. This report predicts, for the next one to five years, “emerging technologies likely to have a large impact on teaching, learning, or creative expression within learning-focused institutions.” Very interesting reading.

Stephen also announces the first of this year’s Sirsi Dynix Institute webinars: “Twenty-five technologies to watch and how.” The live presentation will occur on Thursday, Jan. 31, at 11:00 EST. Thereafter, find it at the Sirsi Dynix Institute archive (http://www.sirsidynixinstitute.com/archive.php). I’m a podcast subscriber; I look forward to having it turn up on my iPod.

I found Four productivity-boosting Firefox extensions over at the Worker’s Edge very useful – at home.  At work, I’m still limited to Internet Explorer.

Well, that’s it for today.  Stay warm, and stay safe!

3 Responses

  1. I also use Firefox at home. I have never downloaded add-ons though. I am going to try the Nitro PDF options. It irritates me when I click on a link thinking it leads to another webpage and a download starts instead. Thanks for the tip.

  2. I’ve used AdBlockerPlus for several months now, and it surprises me to see so many ads when I visit a site at work that I have also used at home. I’m hooked on “themes,” too. This month, with Superbowl on the horizon, my browser look is grass green with little footballs.

  3. Well I installed the Nitro pdf add on this morning…it is great. I used to have to clean up my desktop after every GoLocal work session because I would have about 10 pdfs that had downloaded automatically… this morning there was no need. Woo hoo! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

