The Google Connection

 Well, I’m geeked. 

I read in the December CCL Outlook  that Proquest and Ebsco have entered a relationship with Google Scholar that allows libraries to set up links from Google Scholar results page to the fulltext found in their databases.  The enduser uses the “Scholar preferences” link in the upper right corner of the Scholar search screen , searches for his or her library name(s) in the “Library Links” section in the middle of the page, and selects the resources available.  Save preferences, and it’s good to go. 

Looks like I have some behind-the-scenes work to do, to get this set up for my patrons; I found my Proquest but not my Ebsco databases.  I also found one of the statewide Gale subscriptions, which seems to work perfectly well.

I work in a tiny hospital library.  High-end link resolvers and meta-search engines aren’t in my budget; so any time I can link fulltext to search results on the cheap, I’m a happy camper. 

CCL Outlook also reports on a couple of free tutorials:

  • 20 things I learned about the web , an interactive ebook explaining concepts such as “what is a browser?”, Javascript, TCP/IP, and cloud computing. Requires a browser that can handle HTML5; that rules out my hospital PC!
  • Google Search Manual at the Google Tutor blog, providing “tutorials, tips and advice for Google users.
3 Responses

  1. Curious how you ensure this only works for your users, and how do set this up for items which require a log-in? I have been trying to set this up for a while. I would like a home-grown link resolver, but have not been able to set anything up yet. Any suggestions?

    ~Alisha

  2. Good questions! I’ll have to experiment once I get my Ebscohost databases set up.

    It looks like it works with IP validation, which would restrict access to those on-site. There’s a little bit of explanation at the Ebsco support site: http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=3579

    I suppose that with a password a person could log in to the databases at home, then use Scholar for the search. But what would be the point?

  3. Sandy,

    I would be interested in that information; however, the issue I am having is with subscriptions to journals that require login and are not IP authenticated. Yes I can put this information on the library website in an excel or list but I want seamless access for my patrons which right now is only available via a paid service (A-Z list, serial solutions, etc). I have tried to create an in-house solution but unfortunately my coding skills are not that advanced. I would really like to hear more about the homegrown solutions.

    Thank you,
    ~Alisha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

